Teaching Moments

I have a student in my photo 2 class who is average. She gets most of her work done but it has never been anything exceptional. She has turned class into a social hour and comes to chat with her friends. Today however, she said something strange. We took fake flowers outside to photograph them with a narrow depth of field and when we came back inside and uploaded them she said, “I think this is the best photo I have ever taken.” I went over to look at it and she was right. It not only was the best photo she’s ever taken but one of the best in the class so far this semester. Today I watched her work and it appeared like she was having a fun time experimenting. I think things finally clicked for her and she relized that she was capable of taking amazing photographs. I can’t wait to see what she can come up with in the next seven weeks of school, with this new built confidence. It’s moments like this that make my day sometimes even my year and make me feel like I’m making a difference.

Leave a Reply

